Levels of Care

Routine Home Care

This is the most common level of hospice. Clients may receive routine home care in their private home or wherever they call home – in a long-term care facility or an assisted living facility.

Respite Care

Respite care is short-term inpatient care provided to the client when it becomes necessary to provide a break in caregiving for the caregiver. Respite care is only provided on an occasional basis for a maximum of five consecutive days each time respite care is provided. During respite care, the client is transferred to a hospice-contracted long-term care facility, hospice unit or hospital.

Continuous Care

Continuous care is provided during periods of crisis in which a client requires continuous nursing care to achieve palliation or management of acute medical symptoms that required primarily skilled nursing care. This level of care provides a minimum of eight hours of skilled nursing care in a 24-hour period. Once the acute crisis has ended, the client will be returned to routine home care.

General Inpatient Care

General inpatient care is caring for pain control and symptom management that cannot effectively be provided in other settings. It is usually of a short-term nature and can be provided in a hospital, hospice unit or long-term care facility where a Registered Nurse is available to provide care 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The hospice team continues to visit the client daily to manage care.

quote icon

“We do not remember days, we remember moments.”

Cesar Pavese

Member of: